The Civil War Round Table of Atlanta, Georgia

Richard Barksdale Harwell


The Richard Barksdale Harwell Book Award is given annually by the Civil War Round Table of Atlanta for the best book on a Civil War subject published in the preceding year.  Consisting of a monetary prize and an engraved plaque, the award honors the late Richard Barksdale Harwell, nationally recognized librarian, bibliographer and historian, as well as the first President of the Civil War Round Table of Atlanta. The winning author is invited to appear as a speaker before the CWRTA, usually at the November meeting, during which time the award is presented.

Richard Barksdale Harwell

Submission Guidelines for the Richard Barksdale Harwell Award

Recipients of the Richard Barksdale Harwell Award

1988 William D. Matter If It Takes All Summer
1989 Christopher Lossen Tennessee's Forgotten Warrior
1990 Robert K. Krick Stonewall Jackson at Cedar Mountain
1991 Gary Gallagher Struggle for the Shenandoah
1992 Albert Castel Decision in the West
1993 Richard Bumgartner & Larry Strayer Echoes of Battle
1994 William R. Scaife The Campaign for Atlanta
1995 Emory M. Thomas Robert E. Lee
1996 William Marvel Andersonville: The Last Depot
1997 James I. Robertson, Jr. Stonewall Jackson
1998 J. Tracy Powers Lee's Miserables
1999 Thomas G. Dyer Secret Yankees
2000 Ann Bailey Chessboard of War
2001 William C. Davis The Union That Shaped the Confederacy
2002 Gordon G. Rhea Cold Harbor: Grant and Lee
2003 Francis A. O'Reilly The Fredericksburg Campaign
2004 Larry Daniels Days of Glory: Army of the Cumberland
2005 Tom Carhart Lost Triumph: Lee's Real Plan at Gettysburg and Why It Failed
2006 Russell S. Bonds Stealing the General
2007 Elizabeth Brown Pryor Reading the Man:  A Portrait of Robert E. Lee Through His Private Letters
2008 James M. McPherson Tried By War:  Abraham Lincoln as Commander in Chief
2009 Earl J. Hess In the Trenches at Petersburg: Field Fortifications and Confederate Defeat
2010 David A. Powell Failure in the Saddle: Nathan B. Forrest, Joe Wheeler and the Confederate Cavalry in the Chickamauga Campaign.
2011 Jeffry Wert A Glorious Army: Robert E. Lee’s Triumph 1862-1863
2012 Dr. Brian Steel Wills Georgia Henry Thomas, As True As Steel
2013 Allen C. Guelzo Gettysburg: The Last Invasion
2014 Timothy B. Smith Shiloh: Conquer or Perish
2015 David A. Powell The Chickamauga Campaign - Glory or the Grave

Note:  The dates above are the publication dates of the award-winning books.